Favre takes another shot at Packers

by

Nice. Read here from a quote Favre gave to Ed Werder. (Thanks 56Coop for pointing this out.) I’m less interested in the bit about the ankle surgery and more troubled by his implication (though it’s more than implicit) that his one year with the Vikings was as meaningful as 10 years with the Packers in terms of his “since of belonging” (which of course should read “sense” of belonging). This from PFT:

Favre indicated that he doesn’t want the surgery but that he might have it because of his affection for the Vikings and his belief that they can win the Super Bowl. “We have spoken,” Favre said in an e-mail to Werder. “To play again, I would need the surgery, as I suspected. This decision would be easy if not for my teammates and the fans and the entire Vikings staff. One year truly felt like 10 — much like Green Bay for many years. That’s what I was missing in my heart I suppose, a since of belonging.”

Favre didn’t have a “since” of belonging in Green Bay? The place that embraced Favre and his family for 16+ years, adoring him and showering a mostly unconditional love on the guy no matter what happened? Maybe he didn’t have a “since” of belonging because he’d dress separately from the other players, not come to camp and avoid other QBs instead of mentor them. I hesitated to publish this post because I didn’t necessarily want to bring back the Favre Wars, but this comment ticked me off. Ok, I was set back for a moment there, but I’ve moved on again.

8 Responses to “Favre takes another shot at Packers”

  1. Joe Says:

    I just love how he tries to turn this whole deal into him being selfless. “Oh it would be so easy to decide if I was not so concerned about all the other people in Minnesota …” blah, blah, blah. Your team did not draft a QB – I am pretty sure that means they thought/think you are coming back. Go get the surgery and prepare for the inevitable playoff melt down.

  2. PackerBelle Says:

    I still think Favre is a jerk but I don’t think the comment is that bad – just sloppy wording. I read it as being with the Vikings was very comfortable so that one year felt like he’d been there for a decade much like being in Green Bay for a year was as comfortable there for a decade. I think he is mistaken (I’ve seen how quickly Viking fans will turn on players) but I don’t think he was dissing Green Bay.

  3. Nick Says:

    mmmm…I think you’re reading it wrong.

    I think he was implying that his one year there felt like his years at the Packers – not that 10 years in GB was as meaningful as 1 in MN. Bad wording, but I dont think he was trying to take a shot.

  4. awhayes Says:

    it is entirely possible I’m reading that wrong. a jump…to…conclusions mat!

  5. TheChoj Says:

    “That’s what I was missing in my heart I suppose, a sense of belonging.”

    to me, this is the jab at the Pack

  6. PackerBelle Says:

    I will say I love how he has the perfect excuse now to put off his decisions and ride in to save the day (again) come August.

    To be clear, I do think he needs surgery but I think that he’s already made the decision to have it. The hesitation is just a way to put off reporting to camp.

  7. Ron LC Says:

    Iron Man the sequel. Now Gruten can slobber all over hime for his super human efforts again. The script has been done before.

Leave a comment