Packergeek call for fake spike not heard

by

I can’t help but think about the end of the game yesterday and how the Packers just botched the clock management. The 10 second run-off then the weird starting-the-clock-immediately-without-letting-us-snap thing definitely hurt – but our management of the clock prior to that was a problem. I was serious when I wrote in the process of all that that we ought to fake spike. I think that stands as one of the most effective plays there is. And it should have happened after we got the ball down to the 6 yard line or so. I have seen it done 2x and both times it worked like magic. Every defender is expecting the spike so they relax and if the offense has been alerted to it, they are wide open. And it would have been easy to alert the offense. Before the Pack took possession with 1:25 or so remaining, Flynn could have simply huddled and said at the first opportunity we’re going to fake spike. It is incredibly effective.

Speaking of fakes, another defining moment of the game was Pitt’s fake punt. That was a thing of beauty. It’s so hard for me to watch something like that done against my team because in the moment I’m so ticked that we got fooled, but as a strong proponent of creativity on the football field I can’t help but admire the play. That one in particular was drawn up beautifully and called at the perfect time.

3 Responses to “Packergeek call for fake spike not heard”

  1. Frank G Says:

    Yes, I loved the fake spike when I saw Marino do it many moons ago…an effective play. I am apparently in the minority when I say that I have no problem with the clock management on Sunday. We were on the 1 with 30 seconds left and [probably] would have punched it in had the right side of the line not jumped offsides.

    On a different note, it’s been obvious for the last 8 weeks that Dom Capers has bought himself a ticket out of town. Rex Ryan is expecting to be fired. I would love for him to unpack his bags in Green Bay. He’s an extremely effective defensive coach.

    At this point, it would be silly to expose Rodgers to career-threatening injury. TT, no doubt, has in mind Shanahan’s decision last January to play RGIII, whose injury affected this season. Rodgers will be shut down and will come back with a vengeance next season. He is simply the best player in the league…we are lucky to have him.

    I enjoy checking out your thoughts on the Packers…thanks for spending your Sundays hammering away at your keyboard. Merry Christmas to you.

    • wilsonmaywick Says:

      I am intrigued by your idea of Rex coming to GB with his defensive mind. However, I just can’t see MM and Rex coexisting … Ryan has a big mouth and even bigger ego.

      • Frank G Says:

        I think Ryan would realize that, with Rodgers and even a merely competent defense, the Packers have an excellent chance to win the SB. If so, he would be in demand for a head coaching job. Now, could McCarthy put up with such a spotlight grabber…that’s a good question.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

