Agree with Bedard re Anthony Smith cut

by

I like how Bedard puts it when he says in his article:

“The biggest surprise here isn’t that Martin was released, but rather that Anthony Smith was cut. There must have been a fierce internal debate about him because he played better than Aaron Rouse and was decent enough on special teams to keep. Coach Mike McCarthy indicated Rouse might be back this week after missing time with a hamstring, but getting rid of Smith is a bit of a risk. It’s possible no one will pick up Smith and he’ll be available if the Packers need him in the near future. But they go into the Chicago game with Nick Collins, Atari Bigby and Jarrett Bush as their top three safeties. Rouse is going to need time to get back in shape.”

I am not comfortable with Jarrett Bush and an oft-injured (and presently injured) Aaron Rouse as back-ups. Maybe they have the newly acquired Derrick Martin (CB/S) from Baltimore pegged to be a back-up safety. Even if that’s the case, it’s a bit surprising they’d take him over Anthony Smith who has had much of the offseason to adapt to Capers’ scheme. Could be more of a long-term thing though – maybe Martin is someone TT has had his eye on for a while now.

15 Responses to “Agree with Bedard re Anthony Smith cut”

  1. DaveK Says:

    I was thinking that Smith may in fact take some time away from Bigby. Smith took some chances and wasn’t always in the right spot but he also made some really nice plays this pre-season. I find it hard to believe they think Rouse is more talented then Smith and you have to wonder if this kid is just hard to coach. They ran him out of Pittsburgh and maybe Capers and the coaches just couldn’t trust him to stay in the scheme. ???

  2. Trav Says:

    I am not a big Jarrett Bush fan and cringe seeing him in coverage at any point in the game. From my view, it always seems that when there is a breakdown in coverage and a long reception, the replay shows Bush involved somehow. Maybe I am just looking for him more than others in those replays, but he scares me in the secondary.

    Andy – Agree on Sutton and how surprised I was he was let go. The release of Garcia just shows how much of a mess the Raiders are. Even at his age, I think he’s still better than JaMarcus. Might be worth a look for a veteran back-up.

  3. Ron La Canne Says:

    Let’s not forget the oft injured Bidby and Collins. Both go out of the game regularly to recover from various injuries. And their backups are who?

    If you look at the new depth chart on Packers.com, there has to be something else going on. it just doesn’t make sense at some key positions. More has to be coming.

  4. cindyvvideo Says:

    If he passes waivers, Sutton will be signed to the practice squad. He said so himself on the news last night. Then he’d be available mid season if he’s needed.

  5. JDScrubs Says:

    Hey guys, I’m not sure if you noticed by Jason Wilde isn’t writing for the Wisconsin State Journal anymore! After searching I found him on espnmadison.com and espnmilwaukee.com, not sure why he left but I’m glad I found him. I thought I’d pass it along to anyone else who was looking for, in my opinion, the best Packers reporter.

  6. C.D. Angeli Says:

    I have long documented my shudderness with our safeties. This does little to reassure me. I thought that Smith might actually be the kind of guy that could fill the free safety role…the “coverage over the top” Eugene Robinson guy we’ve missed for so long. We have enough hard-hitting safeties that struggle in their coverage responsibilities. Martin seems like a good prospect but is a converted cornerback that is still learning the safety position.

  7. Trav Says:

    Lost Sutton. That’s too bad.

    http://www.jsonline.com/blogs/sports/57609132.html

  8. 56Coop Says:

    I’m really surprised at keeping Underwood but then again, that’s why I’m not a coach. Didn;t Heckendorf break his leg in the first preseason game? Does that put the Pack on some sort of liability as far as paying him the minimum or something? And go get Garcia.

  9. Ron La Canne Says:

    Who wasn’t cut? Bush, Montgomery, amd Kuhn, all had signed their FA tenders before camp. Could lowalty have played a role in some of the decision making? Just looks curious to me.

  10. 56Coop Says:

    Anybody know anything about A J Feeley. I saw him come into a game after McNabb got hurt & do a very good job until he got hurt in the smae game). Who would be least expensive, Garcia or Feeley?

    Sutton to the Panthers–That sucks.

    Surely, TT has a plan for a backup QB and maybe a safety. Surely…

  11. RayMidge Says:

    Coop you beat me to it . . . AJ Feeley would seem to be an ideal 3rd QB for the Pack.

    I’m glad Brad Jones made the team, he is very active. Hopefully he doesn’t get the Bishop treatment, buried on the bench no matter what.

    Too bad about Sutton but I like all three of the RB’s we kept.

    Great to get something for Moll, coaches must like Martin more than Smith. I’ve always liked Rouse too though.

  12. Ron La Canne Says:

    With Brohm making it to the Practice Squad, The Packers feel they in all actuality, have a third QB. Brian Brohm! This is a big time guess, ,but I think one of the FB’s is holding a roster spot the Packers hope to fill sometime soon.

  13. 56Coop Says:

    God, I hope you are wrong Ron. Flynn might be a great backup but with little preseason work I certainly wouldn;t want to have to rely on him. Also, increases his injury risk factor–then we’re back to Brohm. I guess MM really thinks he sees something there.

    Hopefully though, as you say, TT’s got something in mind with that FB roster spot. Can’t wait for Sunday to get here……

  14. Beer Guy Says:

    I will have to say that I truly dont think cutting A smith would be wise. I seen his preseason performance and seen absolute good attitude and a solid performance. I truly don’t care but maybe cutting Jarrett Bush would be more wise. Besides anothony smith was born in the 3-4.

    CHEERS!!

  15. Ace Says:

    Special teams–the key for non starters to stay with the Pack. Especially 2 fbs and Bush. Major focus this year.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

