75 cents for…air

by

Today, I went to the gas station to put some air in my tires. When I got to the air dispenser or whatever it’s called, I noticed in large writing: 75 CENTS. Now, I haven’t filled my tires up for years because it’s something that is usually handled by the place that changes my oil. But I don’t remember paying anything for – air! Air, that thing we breathe that is incredibly abundant all around us costs me 75 cents for about 2 minutes! Now I know it’s “fancy air” because it’s compressed or something like that – but still, 75 CENTS!

6 Responses to “75 cents for…air”

  1. scott in wisconsin Says:

    What city do you live in? I usually find that places right off the interstate don’t charge.

  2. Richard Says:

    I was about to say that this is illegal, to charge for air/water at gas stations.

    I googled it and found that true at a state level in California. It isn’t a federal law.

    Move to California and you won’t be charged. (but you’ll be taxed on everything else)

  3. PackSmack Says:

    If Obama gets in the Oval Office, you’ll be paying for someone ELSE’S air as well….(http://veerright.wordpress.com/obamas-senate-bill-2433/).

  4. Ron La Canne Says:

    But it must have been scented with a touch of potpouri. right?

  5. Scott in wisconsin Says:

    @ PackSmack

  6. Kozak Says:

    You aren’t paying for the “air”. You are paying for the compressor, and the power to run it. And if you believe you get it “free” at other stations, I have a bridge you might be interested in buying. The cost is just buried in other things you buy at the gas station. TANSTAAFL. “There ain’t no such thing as a free lunch”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

